Wellington County Museum & Archives
Learn about original settlers
Fergus ON N1M 2W3
Weekends 1:00 to 5:00 pm
Closed on all government and statutory holidays.
Explore fascinating exhibits; experience our engaging programmes and events; or research history in our extensive archives. Our beautiful gardens and proximity to the Elora Cataract Trailway also make our site popular for recreational visits and picnics. Located in a building that is the oldest remaining House of Industry in Canada, the Museum and Archives is designated a National Historic Site.
Built in 1877 as a House of Industry, originally called a Poor House, the site included a sixty-bed house, a timber-frame Barn, and thirty acres of crops. Many of the residents were admitted because of poor health or advanced age. Also on the property, is a one-acre cemetery where more than 270 men, women, and children are buried.
There are interpretive exhibits in the barn and cemetery, open seasonally from May to October.